Presidential race unofficial election Results

November 4, 2020 /

Democratic candidate Joe Biden has passed the 270 threshold to win the Presidency, according to the Associated Press.

AP “called” the winner in a state when they determine that the trailing candidate will not gain the state. This can happen before 100% of votes in a state have been counted.

Updated at 9:06 AM PST, AP report that Joe Biden has earned with 284 electoral votes. 

Joe Biden tweeted, “America, I’m honored that you have chosen me to lead our great country. The work ahead of us will be hard, but I promise you this: I will be a President for all Americans— whether you voted for me or not. I will keep the faith that you have placed me” 

He has modified his Twitter biography to say “President-Elect.”

Donald J. Trump is behind with 214 electoral votes. 

Kern Sol News recognizes that there are possible state recounts, predicted to occur. The Trump campaign has called for a recount in Wisconsin, and one is expected in Georgia. Recount requests may also be filed in the battleground states of Pennsylvania and Arizona. 

In Kern County, Biden was first leading with 66,392 votes (52.3%), when the first wave of results were reported. Trump trailed behind with 57,804 votes (45.53%). 330 of 694 precincts had only been reported. 

Now that all 694 precincts have been reported, Trump won the majority of Kern County with 71,254 votes (49.63%). Joe Biden received 69,278 votes (48.26%). 

This close margin is a surprise to a historically-dominant Republican county. 

In Kern County, other party candidates like Libertarian Jo Jorgenson,  received 1560 (1.09%). Green Party candidate, Howie Hawkins earned 479 votes (.33%), and Roque “Rocky” De la Fuente Guerra 466 votes (.32%) from the Alliance party. Lastly, Party and Freedom candidate Gloria La Riva got 449 votes (.31%). 

In 2016, President Trump won against Hillary Clinton and was running for a second term. In that race, he did not receive a popular vote but received 306 out of 538 electoral votes.  Five times in U.S. history, candidates have lost the popular vote but won the presidency.